Late Night Reply

Late last night, before I was about to fall asleep, I decided to check my email.  I don’t know what prompted me to do it.  It wasn’t like I was planning on writing anyone.  But for some reason, I opened my account, and was hit with a rush of butterflies when I noticed a reply to one of my queries.

“Please let it be another Yes!” I silently pleaded as I clicked on the email.  I was still waiting to hear back from the agency that requested some of my chapters two weeks ago as well as the fifteen or so other agencies I queried a week earlier.

When I read the first few words, “Thanks for your query,” I had a sneaking suspicion that this was going to be another rejection.  I don’t know if it was the lack of positive punctuation at the end of the sentence or the fact that it stood alone under the greeting, but a little voice inside of me started preparing me for another no.

As I read on, my suspicions proved correct.  The agent politely stated that her agency represented many fiction writers and that she was not passionate enough about the premise of novel to be the right person to represent it.

All right, I guess you can’t judge a book by its cover, but you obviously can judge one by its query.  That’s all right with me.  You can’t win over everyone, even the most successful New York agent.  But success isn’t everything.  I’ll go for passion over success every day and hold out for the agent who is as passionate about my story as I am.

5 Comments

Filed under Agent

5 responses to “Late Night Reply

  1. Ah yes, I remember that feeling well – the slight lurch of the heart, the hesitation before opening to prolong the sense that maybe, just maybe this time will be different. Take heart and keep positive because one day it may well be the ‘yes’ you’ve been waiting for. Dreams do come true – it happened for me. So onwards and upwards – get your manuscript off immediately to the next person on y0ur list and always remember the book world is very subjective – what one hates, another may adore – it’s just finding the latter.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks Tara! Congratulations on getting your book published. Did it take you a long time to find an agent/publisher?

      • Hi Jessica

        Actually my story is long and involved (so is my book, but that’s different). I have written for as long as I can remember, but only started writing in a serious capacity when I was in my 30s. By that time, I had two children and a marriage that was going nowhere. I had been working on a novel on and off for quite a few years and eventually sent it off to a publisher. I didn’t even have an agent or know the importance of one. In fact, they were a lot less important than they are nowadays. I was also a complete greenhorn and totally unprepared for the world of publishing. Nevertheless, the editor there must have liked something because, although they didn’t accept that book (they did later!) she suggested I try a more contemporary style. I did and 40 pages later (see, I’m an optimist!) I got a three book contract. I thought I had it made, but though I enjoyed modest success, I didn’t give up the day job. In the meantime, real life intervened. One of my children had a serious medical condition and my husband had started an affair – with alcohol. Of necessity, I had to scale back on my writing and only fairly recently (remarried and relocated) did I throw myself back into the melee. I found an agent – luck was on my side again, because it didn’t take me too long – and she soon got a publisher on board and RSVP is now making its way in the world and I am working on VIP, book 2. Listen, I have had a lot of ups and downs in my life, but I know it can be done if you really work hard and believe in yourself. That’s why I am always happy to share my experience with others. Fight the good fight.

        Tara

  2. Mj

    Good luck Jessica, hang in there and stay positive – I look forward to reading your first novel!!!! A signed first edition, of course!!!!!

Leave a Reply

