An Interrupted Holiday

Even though I am away from the city, up at the cottage, overlooking the still waters of the lake, my laptop still tethers me to my everyday reality.  I can’t help but check my emails and stay in touch, even when everything here – the beach, the pool, and the Muskoka chairs – are screaming at me to relax.  I guess I refuse to let myself really get away, even when every morsel of my being knows I need this little break.

I shouldn’t have been surprised when I received another response to one of my queries today.  And even with the beach calling, I still needed to see what it said.  But this time I didn’t hold my breath, I didn’t pray for a ‘yes’ (even though I definitely wanted one), I just let whatever was going to happen, happen.  So I read.

Like all the others, it began with a pleasant greeting and a thank you for sending my interesting query.  Then this one continued, “The concept has many worthwhile elements, but due to our workload, I do not believe we are quite the right agency for this project.  We are rarely able to add new authors to our roster.”

All right, so it wasn’t a ‘yes.’  But at least it was a positive and somewhat encouraging ‘no.’  They thought my book was worthwhile.   And I know that someone else will feel the same, someone who can take on more authors.

2 Comments

Filed under Agent

2 responses to “An Interrupted Holiday

  1. Mabel Litwin

    Keep plugging, Jess, we are all rooting for you.
    Love
    Bubby

Leave a Reply

